• Montessori Campus Advisory Board
    The Montessori Campus Advisory Board was formed as a result of the July 1, 2020 merger of Stonebrook Montessori (formerly a charter school) and Michael R. White Elementary School to create the Stonebrook-White Montessori Campus. The board is structured to play an important role in supporting the Stonebrook-White Montessori Campus and CMSD in the implementation of the Montessori approach at the school.

    Who are we:  The Montessori Campus Advisory Board exists to consult, advise, guide, support, and promote the Stonebrook-White Montessori Campus as a thriving portfolio school in the Cleveland Metropolitan School District. Board members represent school leadership, families, the community, and philanthropic organizations.  

    Our mission:  The Montessori Campus Advisory Board’s mission is to steward access to exceptional Montessori education in the Glenville neighborhood.

    Our vision:  The Montessori Campus Advisory Board’s vision is to curate a culturally responsive teaching and learning environment, steeped in Montessori principles, that prepares all students for today’s rapidly changing global society.  

    Our values:

    Cooperation - the process of working together to the same end

    Community - feelings of fellowship with others, as a result of sharing common attitudes, interests, and goals

    Diversity - recognizing the differences and commonalities among us 

    Education - the theory and practice of teaching and learning 

    Relationships - the state of being connected

    Service - the act of assistance, help, or support


    Executive Committee

    Governance Committee

    Development and Finance Committee

    Community Engagement Committee

    Montessori Education Committee

    Montessori Development Partnerships (MDP), a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization, partners with foundations, corporations, and individuals who contribute funds to support the implementation of an exceptional Montessori education at the Stonebrook-White Montessori Campus.

    Thank you to our community supporters for their generous gifts!
    To make a contribution to support the Stonebrook-White Montessori Campus and public Montessori in CMSD, donate now at: https://www.montessori-mdp.org/donate

    Board Roster for 2020-2021

    Executive Committee:
    Nathaniel (Nate) McDonald, Board President
    U.S. Department of Education-Office for Civil Rights, Supervisory Attorney / Team Leader; Montessori High School at University Circle, Former Head of School

    Debra (Debbie) Hershey Guren, Board Treasurer
    Montessori Development Partnerships, President; Hershey Montessori, Board Emeritus; The Hershey Foundation, President and CEO; Martha Holden Jennings Foundation, Vice Chair; Holden Forests and Gardens, Board Member

    Jacquelynn Clifford, Board Secretary
    Cleveland State University, Ohio Department of. Education, and East Cleveland City Schools, Retired Educator; Martha Holden Jennings Scholar.

    Ex Officio Board Members
    Eric Gordon
    Cleveland Metropolitan School District, Chief Executive Officer

    Ariel (Ari) Hayes
    Cleveland Metropolitan School District, Stonebrook-White Montessori Campus Principal

    Jacqueline (Jacqui) Miller
    Cleveland Metropolitan School District, Director of Montessori Programming and Operations; AMI/USA, Board Member; International Montessori Training Institute, Board Member; Stonebrook Montessori, Former and Founding Principal

    Board Members (3-year terms)
    John Anoliefo
    Famicos Foundation, Executive Director

    Erskine Bevel
    Cleveland Neighborhood Progress, CFO & VP of Administration

    Lynne Breitenstein-Aliberti
    Association Montessori Internationale (AMI/USA), Director of School Affiliation and Consultation; AMI/USA, Member

    William Hines
    The Lincoln Electric Company, Retired

    Rebecca Nappi
    OhioGuidestone, Director of Counseling Programs

    Lisa Simoneau
    Cleveland Metropolitan School District, Stonebrook-White Montessori Campus Intervention Specialist; AMI/USA, Member; AMI/Elementary Alumni Association (EAA,  Member; ASCD, Member; National Association for Gifted Children (NAGC), Member; Council for Exceptional Children (CEC), Member; National Center for Learning Disabilities (NCLD), Member

    Barbara Wilcher-Norton
    Neighbor to Neighbor, Chairperson; Council for Exceptional Children, Member

    Community Members Serving on Committees
    Brian Anthony
    Walsh Jesuit High School, Equity & Inclusion

    Judith Banks
    A Beautiful Mind Foundation, CEO; Professional affiliations with: Mental Health Advocacy Coalition (MHAC), Alcohol, Drug, Addiction, and Mental Health Services Board (ADAMHS), National Alliance Mental Illness (NAMI), Ohio Department of Mental Health and Addiction Services (OhioMHAS), Recovery Resources, ADM Board, and Landmark Recovery.

    Sarah Coulter
    Cleveland Metropolitan School District, Life Skills Coach

    Austin Harris
    Ruffing Montessori School, After-care Coordinator

    Martha Loughridge
    Montessori Development Partnerships, Director of Philanthropy and Partnerships; Association of Fundraising Professionals, Member; Neighborhood Leadership Development Program, Graduate (Cohort 2)

    Roschelle Ogbuiji
    United Labor Agency, Business Development Coordinator

    Victoria Trotter
    Green Movement Glenville, Executive Director; Trotter Enterprises, CEO

    Montessori Campus Advisory Board meetings are open to the public. Board meetings are held the fourth Wednesday of the month, 5:30-7:00pm, via Zoom. Contact Martha Loughridge, mloughridge.mdp@gmail.com, at least 24-hours in advance of the meeting to receive the Zoom link.

    The Board is seeking community leaders to join committees as well as the board. We invite individuals who have a commitment to Cleveland's eastside communities and education. Montessori experience is not required, but an interest and curiosity in Montessori is important.

    For additional information about the Montessori Campus Advisory Board, contact:

    Jacqueline (Jacqui) Miller, Chair, Montessori Education Committee, Community Engagement Committee, Jacqueline.Miller@clevelandmetroschools.org

    Debra (Debbie) Guren, Chair, Development & Finance Committee, dguren@aol.com

    Bill Hines, Chair, Governance Committee, memo_hines@yahoo.com

    Nathaniel (Nate) McDonald, Chair, Executive Committee, mcdonaldnj@hotmail.com

    For additional information about Montessori Development Partnerships and making a tax-deductible donation, contact:
    Martha Loughridge, Director of Philanthropy and Partnerships, mloughridge.mdp@gmail.com, 216-838-2582


    Last updated: 5/17/21