Return to Headlines

Cleveland Mayor Frank Jackson re-appoints three school board members

October 9, 2013 by Patrick O'Donnell, The Plain Dealer
CLEVELAND, Ohio -- Mayor Frank Jackson has re-appointed three Cleveland school board members to new four-year terms, while declining to re-appoint one.

Incumbent board members Robert Heard, Willetta Milam and Lisa Thomas were sworn in by board President Denise Link for their new terms at Tuesday's board meeting. Each member had served different variations of full and partial terms before re-appointment. Link said Heard joined the board in 2004 and was board president from 2007-09. Milam got on the board in 2003, and Thomas in 2011.

Board member Patricia Crutchfield was not re-appointed.

Unlike other school boards in Ohio, whose five members are chosen by voters, the Cleveland school board has nine members who are all appointed by the mayor. The state legislature put the board under mayoral control in 1997.