Return to Headlines

More schools to receive Say Yes support services

Another 26 schools will receive Say Yes to Education support services designed to keep students on track to graduation and Say Yes scholarships. 

The selections announced by Say Yes to Education Cleveland will bring to 42 the number of schools where a support specialist will connect students and their families with a customized array of services ranging from after-school programming to mental health and legal assistance.

The new group will begin receiving services next school year. The list, found below, includes 15 CMSD elementary schools and eight high schools, as well as three eligible charter schools, the first charters to receive the supports.

Services complement Say Yes scholarships that were launched last year. The scholarships pay up to the full value of tuition, minus federal and state aid, to all public colleges, universities and Pell-eligible training programs in Ohio and more than 100 private colleges and universities across the country.

To be eligible for the scholarships, students must be continuously enrolled in a CMSD or eligible charter high school and live in the District from ninth grade until graduation.

“We are excited about expanding Say Yes Cleveland support services to additional schools,” said Diane Downing, executive director of Say Yes Cleveland. “The first year of Say Yes support services has helped students and their families overcome barriers and stay on track to success so that students will be better prepared to take advantage of Say Yes Cleveland’s postsecondary scholarships.”

The support specialists have stayed on the job during the state-ordered school closure, continuing to make sure families' needs are met. 

Effective next school year, services will be available in 40 percent of CMSD and eligible charter schools. Remaining CMSD and eligible charter schools will receive the supports by 2023, with plans calling for about 30 schools being added in each of the next two years.

Schools apply for the services. A selection committee that includes public and education sector representatives considers factors such as how services would mesh with a school’s needs and existing programs, school location and enrollment trends.

The new set of schools to receive support services will include:

CMSD PreK- and K-8 schools

  • A.B. Hart
  • Anton Grdina
  • Bolton
  • Campus International
  • Clark
  • Halle
  • Hannah Gibbons
  • James A. Garfield
  • Louis Agassiz
  • Oliver H. Perry
  • Sunbeam
  • Wade Park
  • Warner Girls' Leadership Academy
  • William Rainey Harper
  • Willson

CMSD High Schools

  • Campus International
  • Cleveland School of the Arts
  • Cleveland School of Science and Medicine
  • Davis Aerospace & Maritime
  • Ginn Academy
  • Garrett Morgan School of Engineering and Innovation
  • Rhodes School of Environmental Studies
  • New Tech West

Charter schools

  • E Prep & Village Prep Woodland Hills Campus
  • E Prep & Village Prep Cliffs Campus
  • Citizens Leadership Academy