Return to Headlines

District teams from Riverside, Kenneth Clement Boys Leadership Academy excel at Mock Trial in Ohio Supreme Court


Two CMSD teams stocked with budding legal minds from Riverside K-8 School and the Kenneth Clement Boys Leadership Academy represented the District this week in a Middle School Mock Trial competition.

The exercise, sponsored by the Ohio Center for Law-Related Education (OCLRE), was held in the chambers of the Ohio Supreme Court Monday through Wednesday.

The Riverside team had the winning lawyer in both the morning session (Jacob Miller) and the afternoon session (Sierra Jones), school social studies teacher Maureen O’Boyle said in an email.

“We will find out in a week the standing of the team as a whole,” she said. “Our students had a great time, were well-behaved, and we culminated with a tour of, and a great dinner at Schmidts Restaurant in German Village.”

The team from Kenneth Clement also had a winner: Eighth grader JaShon Drummer was named best defense witness, “as his keen and detailed responses won the judges votes over the competition,” said advisor Kevin O’Connell, who accompanied the team on the trip to Columbus along with co-advisor Kate Masetta.

oclre-mock trial OCLRE Middle School Mock Trial cases are crafted from literature commonly taught in middle school classrooms, according to the center’s web site:

“The 2014 state showcase trial is Community v. Jaden, based on The Giver, a novel by Lois Lowry. Set in a fictional community where 'sameness' is the norm, Jaden (Jonas, in Lowry’s book) challenges the status quo with his decision to save a young child from 'release,' or certain death. When, as a result, the community accuses Jaden of kidnapping, he becomes the defendant in a criminal trial." 

More than 300 students from 25 different Ohio middle schools took part in the competition at the Thomas J. Moyer Ohio Judicial Center.

The full list:
Bethany School (Hamilton County); Blendon Middle School (Franklin County); Columbus City Preparatory School for Girls (Franklin County); Danville Middle School (Knox County); Dominion Middle School (Franklin County); Everts Middle School (Pickaway County); Genoa Middle School (Franklin County); Heritage Middle School (Franklin County); Independence Middle School (Cuyahoga County); Indianola Informal (Franklin County); Kenneth Clement Boys Leadership Academy (Cuyahoga County); Leaves of Learning (Hamilton County); Mason Middle School (Warren County); Menlo Park Academy (Cuyahoga County); North Union Middle School (Union County); Perrysburg Jr. High School (Wood County); Ridgeview Middle School (Franklin County); Riverside K-8 School (Cuyahoga County); St. Hilary School (Summit County); St. Paul School (Franklin County); Walnut Springs Middle School (Franklin County); Waverly Jr. High School (Pike County); Woodward Park Middle School (Franklin County); Yorktown Middle School (Franklin County); and Zanesville Middle School (Muskingum County).