Return to Headlines

Excellence in Teaching 2017

The Excellence in Teaching Award recognizes and rewards Cleveland Metropolitan School District teachers who demonstrate instructional expertise, creativity and innovation in their classrooms; who make learning engaging, vibrant and relevant for students; and whose work and accomplishments set a standard of excellence for all teachers. Its purpose is to elevate the teaching profession, to motivate and inspire teachers, to allow teachers to share best educational practices with their peers, and to enhance the reputation of teachers in Cleveland.
2017 Excellence in Teaching Award Winners:
Dean Bryson, New Tech Collinwood
Mary deVille, Euclid Park School
Tonya Dunlap, Buhrer Dual Language Academy
Catherine Duplisea, Orchard STEM School
Kirsten Fischer, Scranton
Andrea Kitchen, Louisa May Alcott
Jason Levy, Campus International School
Rita Mikita, MC2Stem High School
Alexis Pohlman, Louis Agassiz
Jordan Seigler, Charles Dickens
For more information about the award, visit