Founded in 1981, the Cleveland School of the Arts is an extraordinary arts high school that evolved from a passionate idea to become a vigorous arts education model.  Since 1982, a dedicated Board of Trustees (formerly known as Friends of CSA) has supported the specific needs of quality arts education across eight vibrant art majors.

    The Trustees believe in the arts education model of CSA.  As an independent 501(c)(3), the nonprofit functions with a small on-site Office of Philanthropy at the center of efforts:

    • Build resources:  From philanthropic support (Annual Fund, corporate sponsorships, foundation and government grants) to in-kind donations (pianos, art supplies, choir robes, books, and more), the aim is to fill the persistent gap between per-pupil district funding and the expenses of top-notch arts education.

    • Nurture partnerships:  More than 30 arts and education partners provide resources, from private lessons to performance stages.  Long-standing partners through changing economic and education climates include the Cleveland Institute of Music, Cleveland Museum of Art, and The Cleveland Orchestra.  New partners to deepen student experiences include the Cleveland Classical Guitar Society, Glass Bubble Project, and Museum of Contemporary Art (MOCA Cleveland).

    • Advocate for arts education:  Trustees recognize CSA’s potential in the region, and they are part of local conversations and initiatives.  They support the work of the district and leading foundations to advance educational opportunities for Cleveland students.

We sincerely thank the community for their generous support.  All are welcome to call, email, visit for a tour, and join us for remarkable performances!

Board Roster for 2020 - 2021

  • Executive/Finance Committee

    President:   Felton Thomas, Cleveland Public Library
    President Elect/Vice President:   TBD
    Past President/Chair, Committee on Governance:   Rick Ortmeyer, Bostwick Design Partnership
    Treasurer/Chair, Finance/Audit Committee:   David LaRue
    Secretary:   TBD
    Chair, Development Committee:   Jill Snyder


    Jeffery Allen, Cleveland Metropolitan School District
    Stephanie Breitenbach, Jones Day
    Dan Carter
    Adam Friedman, Integrity Asset Management
    Joan Katz Napoli, The Cleveland Orchestra
    Joy Roller
    Tony Sias, Karamu House
    Audra Woods, Cleveland School of the Arts
    Thomas Zych, Thompson Hine LLP


    John M. LePelley, Head of School
    Kate Duke, Development Director

    Office of Philanthropy

    Kate Duke, Development Director, Kate@ClevelandSchooloftheArts.org, 216.838.9106
    Ruby Watkins, Operations Manager, Ruby@ClevelandSchooloftheArts.org, 216.838.9025